International Piano Series: Paul Lewis

Lewis performs music from one incredible Hungarian and two great Viennese composers

The British pianist Paul Lewis has risen to international stardom with a particularly enviable reputation in the Viennese heartlands of the piano repertoire. Schubert's enchanting, intimate Sonata in B major leads to Brahms' emotionally powerful early Ballades Op.10 and 3 Intermezzi Op.117, which the composer once described as "lullabies to my sorrows". The Liszt Dante Sonata provides a vivid contrast with its high drama, heady atmospheres and magnificent virtuoso challenges. Running order: - Franz Schubert: Sonata in B, D.575 - Johannes Brahms: 4 Ballades, Op.10 - Interval - Johannes Brahms: 3 Intermezzi, Op.117 - Franz Liszt: Après une lecture de Dante - Fantasia quasi sonata from Années de pèlerinage Please arrive on time as latecomers may not be admitted.


Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre

Similar Offers (0)
You are viewing 0 of 0 offers

Don't miss out again!


© 2022 Time Out England Limited and affiliated companies owned by Time Out Group Plc. All rights reserved. Time Out is a registered trademark of Time Out Digital Limited.