Philharmonia Orchestra: Bartók + Shostakovich

An attempt to reflect the terrible tragedy of war

Written in 1943, Shostakovich publicly described his Eighth Symphony as "an attempt to reflect the terrible tragedy of war". In 1939, Bartók was equally fearful for the state of Europe. His rhapsodic Violin Concerto – performed here by master violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann – is laced with folk-like calls from a homeland he feared would soon be unrecognisable. Minimum age 7 years. Tickets booked within the same transaction will be sat together. Tickets are allocated by the Philharmonia Orchestra. It is not possible to select your own seat.


Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre

Similar Offers (0)
You are viewing 0 of 0 offers

Don't miss out again!


© 2022 Time Out England Limited and affiliated companies owned by Time Out Group Plc. All rights reserved. Time Out is a registered trademark of Time Out Digital Limited.